Ezecom speed is getting worse

Phones, Internet, Computers and such.
User avatar
Doc67
Expatriate
Posts: 8927
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:16 am
Reputation: 8202
Location: PHNOM PENH
Great Britain

Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by Doc67 »

Has anyone else noticed the deterioration of Ezecom speeds? I have been noticing a marked decrease in loading speed. Sites like Netflix seem ok but they buffer quite a bit so dips go unnoticed. But simply loading pages from CEO this morning was painfully slow.

Here are the tests, one local server and one random in Rochester NY.

NY
Image

Local
Image
User avatar
orichá
Expatriate
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 10:59 am
Reputation: 282
Location: n/a
Canada

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by orichá »

Doc67 wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 8:01 am Has anyone else noticed the deterioration of Ezecom speeds? I have been noticing a marked decrease in loading speed. Sites like Netflix seem ok but they buffer quite a bit so dips go unnoticed. But simply loading pages from CEO this morning was painfully slow.

Here are the tests, one local server and one random in Rochester NY.

NY
Image

Local
Image
I presume you are located in Phnom Penh, not NY...

I am not sure how you could test ezecom in NY unless running it through a VPN? What does NY have to do with it?

Anyway, if you are getting 100 Mbps in Phnom Penh, that is pretty damn good.

I only get 10 on my phone and about 20 mbps on the PC via my "apartment house" WiFi network. On the PC everything works fine for streaming YouTube or whatever, but not on the phone, lately.

There should be no problem streaming anything at 100 Mbps -- at your end.... however, one must consider that bottlenecks occur on the other side of the world. The source server signal may be degraded or interrupted by any number of causes en route to Asia. Even if major streamers run repeater servers in Asia, their signals can get bottlenecked coming into Cambodia...

So, basically, the reduction in performance may have nothing to do with your available local test speed.

And yes, I have noticed interrupted signals lately, too, trying to stream some internet music... But I think it's a bottleneck caused by something else besides local download speed. There may be disruptions to the incoming signal on the main line cables. Maybe they are servicing them or something...
~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~
“There are terrible difficulties in the notion of probability, but we may ignore them at present.” - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
Doc67
Expatriate
Posts: 8927
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:16 am
Reputation: 8202
Location: PHNOM PENH
Great Britain

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by Doc67 »

I am in Phnom Penh.

From what I have learned in this section in the past.... you can choose the server that your Phnom Penh Ezecom server connects to. If you use the default local one, like Smart Axia you get fantastic speeds. But once you try to connect to a server out of the country (where 99.999999% of the World Wide Web is located) the speeds crash. I chose the NY server as a random. London servers return similar speeds.

The 100mb speeds are unrealistic unless your desired website is a local company whose servers are also located here, and there ain't many of them I need to communicate with.
User avatar
pissontheroof
Expatriate
Posts: 1904
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:12 pm
Reputation: 346
Cambodia

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by pissontheroof »

I have also noticed in siem reap recently .
Ezecom speed very slow ..
User avatar
IraHayes
Expatriate
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 7:38 am
Reputation: 2043
Marshall Islands

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by IraHayes »

while speed testing your connection can be a good way to test for bandwidth it does have its limitations when trying to determine where issues may be arising when connecting to a particular site.

It simply may not give you all the information. When you connect to a server in the USA your connections go through many "hops" as it uses intermediate servers to form a chain with the final destination being the target you are interested in. The problem may, therefore, be in one of the intermediate server connections and the easiest way to see if this is happening is to use the old ping/tracert commands.

typing pathping <website address> will return a list of all intermediate hops and the status of the connection for each hop. You can then see if the problem lies in the destination or one of the intermediate servers.
The tracert command will return a more comprehensive list of hops and I would recommend using that.
I recall using this in the early 2000's to report connection issues when online gaming and there are programs out there that will allow you to remove bad nodes (hops) from your connection thus improving latency and overall connection speeds.

Here is an example of tracert being used to check nodes between myself and https://www.benlcollins.com/

Image
User avatar
IraHayes
Expatriate
Posts: 2696
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 7:38 am
Reputation: 2043
Marshall Islands

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by IraHayes »

just checked the age of one of the games I recall using this for and it was all the way back in win 95 days so ... yeah ... bit of a blast from the past doing tracerts :/
mi1
Expatriate
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 9:09 pm
Reputation: 59
Belarus

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by mi1 »

I do not know if it coincidence but some of my servers in Europe start to have longer latencies to Asia nearly the same time as houthis hit underwater communications cables
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-hout ... 1001472165
User avatar
Kammekor
Expatriate
Posts: 6443
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:50 pm
Reputation: 2943
Cambodia

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by Kammekor »

mi1 wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 3:50 pm I do not know if it coincidence but some of my servers in Europe start to have longer latencies to Asia nearly the same time as houthis hit underwater communications cables
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-hout ... 1001472165
Metfone WiFi in the Northeast normal speeds to Europe / USA, 20M up and down so I doubt it's a large issue with cables.
rogerrabbit
Expatriate
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 1:17 am
Reputation: 351

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by rogerrabbit »

Kammekor wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 4:38 pm
mi1 wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 3:50 pm I do not know if it coincidence but some of my servers in Europe start to have longer latencies to Asia nearly the same time as houthis hit underwater communications cables
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-hout ... 1001472165
Metfone WiFi in the Northeast normal speeds to Europe / USA, 20M up and down so I doubt it's a large issue with cables.
Asia Africa Europe-1 (AAE-1) that lands in Sihanoukville was one of the cables that got hit according to that article. And if I'm not totally wrong, that cable is what many companies in Cambodia use as it's the only one that directly connects to Europe. Metfone being one of the owners of that cable as well.

If you live in Northeast it might be that your internet is connected to Vietnam and use Vietnamese submarine cables as Metfone is Vietnamese company.
User avatar
Kammekor
Expatriate
Posts: 6443
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:50 pm
Reputation: 2943
Cambodia

Re: Ezecom speed is getting worse

Post by Kammekor »

rogerrabbit wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 6:35 pm
Kammekor wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 4:38 pm
mi1 wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 3:50 pm I do not know if it coincidence but some of my servers in Europe start to have longer latencies to Asia nearly the same time as houthis hit underwater communications cables
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-hout ... 1001472165
Metfone WiFi in the Northeast normal speeds to Europe / USA, 20M up and down so I doubt it's a large issue with cables.
Asia Africa Europe-1 (AAE-1) that lands in Sihanoukville was one of the cables that got hit according to that article. And if I'm not totally wrong, that cable is what many companies in Cambodia use as it's the only one that directly connects to Europe. Metfone being one of the owners of that cable as well.

If you live in Northeast it might be that your internet is connected to Vietnam and use Vietnamese submarine cables as Metfone is Vietnamese company.
I would have to do a trace route to find it out, but since all traffic in Cambodia is routed through the ministry of information in Phnom Penh for 'safety purposes' different regional routing doesn't make much sense.
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests