Netflix- what are the alternatives?

Streaming video, book reviews, movie requests and more.
Freightdog
Expatriate
Ireland

Netflix- what are the alternatives?

Post by Freightdog »

Without purchasing a separate means of masking my location- like a VPN
What reliable options are there?

I travel a lot. I’ve been using Netflix for many years, and it’s got plenty of limitations and stupidities. But apparently, they now require users to setup individual accounts billed in, and used exclusively in, the country where it is signed up. It’s verboten to use it while travelling. Given that my working year can easily cover a dozen countries, that’s not practical.

So what decent alternatives, with a reasonable variety of content are there?
Last edited by Freightdog on Fri Nov 18, 2022 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Doc67
Expatriate
Great Britain

Re: Netflix- what are the alternatives

Post by Doc67 »

When did this start? I have a UK account that I use here and so does my daughter in the UK. I won't be paying twice for it.

As for alternatives, if there is a series you want to watch, you can always download it from Pirate Bay or another streaming site and store on a separate hard drive just for your TV stuff. That makes the internet connection irrelevant wherever you go. I have two drives full of stuff and take them everywhere.
grumpygit
Expatriate
Great Britain

Post by grumpygit »

MoviesHd app works very well. It's free and you get content way before other platforms. All in good quality.

Downside is finding a genuine copy of the app. That's not been messed about with.

MoviesHd has their own site now but it's very easy to stumble onto one that's a spoof of the genuine article.
Please don't confuse my personality with my attitude. The former is me, the latter a reflection of you.
Freightdog
Expatriate
Ireland

Post by Freightdog »