Property purchase from overseas

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
troelshartmann
Expatriate
Australia

Property purchase from overseas

Post by troelshartmann »

Hi. Very much a noob here, not yet located in Cambodia but hoping to eventually retire there.

I am tentatively looking into the ins and outs of buying a house. I understand foreigners are not allowed to own property so it would have to be via my girlfriend (and yes I'm aware of *some* of the possible pitfalls of this).

Before I start asking questions, is there a FAQ on this anywhere or a different forum or site I should be asking in? Or can I go ahead here?

Cheers.
Kammekor
Expatriate
Cambodia

Re: Property purchase from overseas

Post by Kammekor »

troelshartmann wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 2:26 pm Hi. Very much a noob here, not yet located in Cambodia but hoping to eventually retire there.

I am tentatively looking into the ins and outs of buying a house. I understand foreigners are not allowed to own property so it would have to be via my girlfriend (and yes I'm aware of *some* of the possible pitfalls of this).

Before I start asking questions, is there a FAQ on this anywhere or a different forum or site I should be asking in? Or can I go ahead here?

Cheers.
It's really simple. Wire her the money, she'll buy the land in her name, and then you build your love nest, all in her name.