Chickens and fowl question

Provincial living: homesteading, farming, gardening, self-efficiency and animal husbandry.
Element6
Expatriate
Cambodia

Chickens and fowl question

Post by Element6 »

I have a variety of chicken breeds as well as some other birds (peafowl guinea fowl, turkey, geese) at my place in Kep. I am new to this so dont have an insight in to what medications/vaccinations I should be giving them to prevent health issues moving forward.

Any help and insight on to what medications are necessary, frequency, dosage, etc would be greatly appreciated, plus any source of the medication in Phnom Penh, Kep or Kampot (I am usually in PP) if known would be great

Many thanks in Advance
pczz
Expatriate
Great Britain

Re: Chickens and fowl question

Post by pczz »

Do not keep the chickens and turkeys together. there is a disease chickens get which does not kill them but will rip through turkeys like coronavirus on speed. farmer friedn told me wild fowl are much more resistant to disease and need less medication unless you are intending to eat them
SternAAlbifrons
Expatriate
Pitcairn Island

Post by SternAAlbifrons »

Vaccinate against Newcastle disease. !!!!!
An eye drop available thru any vet,
..and some general farm supply businesses
Element6
Expatriate
Cambodia

Post by Element6 »

Thanks guys

anything else I need to watch out for and medicate against?
dan.phillips
Tourist
Great Britain

Post by dan.phillips »

I'm looking for a couple of female Guinea fowl in kampot to replace some which were killed. The cock is very lonely. Do you have any spare?
Element6 wrote: Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:13 am I have a variety of chicken breeds as well as some other birds (peafowl guinea fowl, turkey, geese) at my place in Kep. I am new to this so dont have an insight in to what medications/vaccinations I should be giving them to prevent health issues moving forward.