Police Check for Time Volunteering in Cambodia

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
travel1234
Tourist

Police Check for Time Volunteering in Cambodia

Post by travel1234 »

Hi all,

Sorry if this has already been posted about but I can’t seem to find any info anywhere.

I’ve been volunteering as a teacher in a school for 2 months now and am going to be doing teacher training when I return to the UK. The UK school have requested a police check for my time in Cambodia as part of their DBS requirement, but I am wondering if it is possible to get the residence certificate to get the police check as I haven’t got a rental agreement. As part of the volunteering I stay at the school for free, so there is nothing formal in place. The UK school have suggested a letter from the Cambodian school giving details of where I’ve been staying, but I’m wondering if that will work/be enough? Any advice/suggestions welcome.

Cheers
PSD-Kiwi
Expatriate
New Zealand

Re: Police Check for Time Volunteering in Cambodia

Post by PSD-Kiwi »

Have the school assist you in obtaining the Certificate of Residence from the local Sangkat, simple.
PSD-Kiwi
Expatriate
New Zealand

Post by PSD-Kiwi »

I'm surprised they're asking you for a police check for such a short period spent in Cambodia...it's normally only requested for any country that you have resided in for 6+ months.
Kammekor
Expatriate
Cambodia