Job Hunting Advice

This is our job board for expats. Until ZipRecruiter and Indeed make their way to the Kingdom of Wonder, this is the best place to look for employment in Cambodia, whether you're looking to teach English, manage a 5-star hotel, volunteer, or even work for some of the big NGOs. Even digital nomads who move to Cambodia sometimes need a side gig as a TEFL instructor from time to time. Most professional expatriate jobs are in Phnom Penh, but Siem Reap and Kampot are emerging as attractive alternatives. If you're an employer or hiring manager, you're also welcome to post your job listing here for free.
Mr Fish
Tourist
Canada

Job Hunting Advice

Post by Mr Fish »

Hi all,

I'm currently looking for a job as an English or PE teacher in Phnom Penh. I taught in China for 8 years and I was a volunteer tutor in Canada for 5 years. I've been applying to schools by sending a cover letter and CV to their respective HR departments. I'm wondering if that is indeed the best way to do it, because I haven't been receiving any replies. Granted I haven't been hunting long, but I'm not sure how long it's supposed to take. I'm very new to Cambodia. Perhaps I've been spoiled by China; due to China's large population, there is a high and constant demand for English teachers.

This forum section doesn't seem overly active so I hope someone out there can offer some decent advice.

Thanks in advance.
PSD-Kiwi
Expatriate
New Zealand

Re: Job Hunting Advice

Post by PSD-Kiwi »

I'm not a teacher, but from all the ones I know, and what I regularly see posted on FB groups and forums, the only way to find a job with a school here is to beat the pavement. You need to go in person to the schools with a physical copy of your CV, most schools (or any Cambodians for that matter) do not reply to emails. Hope that helps, I'm sure this a few teachers on this forum who will chime in and offer you their advice. Good luck.
Kammekor
Expatriate
Cambodia

Post by Kammekor »