Bank Account for Remote Worker

Whether you're a working stiff or a business owner yourself, this is the place to discuss all aspects of financing your drinking habit ;-)

NO BUSINESS SALES HERE PLEASE, WE HAVE A SECTION FOR THAT IN THE CLASSIFIEDS.
JSON
Tourist
South Africa

Bank Account for Remote Worker

Post by JSON »

Hi,

I am South African but work remotely for an Aussie company.

I have been traveling South East Asia for over 2 years and am looking at opening a bank account in Cambo.

I currently receive monthly payments in AUD but these end up in my SA bank account in ZAR.

This is my primary account used on my travels (bit of an F-up as ZAR is so volatile).

My employers can pay into any bank account I request, and, Cambodia seems ideal because;
- I can get a USD account and store my wealth in USD
- The requirements to open a savings account at some of the banks are minimal and I can do this on a short stay

Firstly, are my points above correct?
Second, how will a Cambodian account fare internationally? I spend most of my time in South East Asia these days. So I will need to swipe and withdraw in a variety of countries. I will also need to be able to use the related credit/debit card for online purchases.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

PS. Currently considering Canadia and ABA savings accounts as they seem easy to open. However, CIMB Bank offers a Foreign Currency Current account. This seams ideal as money can be stored in multiple currencies including AUD (I get paid in this) and THB (I spend a lot of time in Thailand). The snag here is that this account requires a work permit (which I am never going to get for Cambodia). Any advice on this account or a similar one would also be appreciated.
that genius
Expatriate
Sweden

Re: Bank Account for Remote Worker

Post by that genius »

Check your private messages (top right hand corner, envelope icon)

ABA is pretty good, Cambodia Public Bank is OK too
PSD-Kiwi
Expatriate
New Zealand