Live music in Sihanoukville

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
SaxPatriot
Tourist
France

Live music in Sihanoukville

Post by SaxPatriot »

Hi,
I am a saxophonist and music composer, I am also teaching.
Soon moving from KL, Malaysia to Sihanoukville.
I'll be glad to know if there are musicians from SHV or elsewhere here in this forum?
I am very keen on learning about music and impatient to meet musicians.
I would like to know more about venues in SHV and best place to jam and meet people. it seems that lots of info about SHV night life are quickly obsolete these days...
Oh, and I am also interested in teaching (paid or non-profit)

Any advice, please?
thanks.
Hotdigr
Expatriate

Re: Live music in Sihanoukville

Post by Hotdigr »

When you get there, ask around for Graham Cain. He runs Top Hat promotions in S/ville. If you head down to Above Us Only Sky on Serendipity beach, the owner there can probably put you in touch with him.
Unfortunately though, you are pretty much to late. Most of the old S/ville muso's have moved to Kampot where there is now a very vibrant live music scene. S/ville only has a couple of places that still do live music. Also, I believe Graham is almost ready to move to Vietnam himself fairly soon. Sorry mate, but realistically you are probably to late for Sihanoukville. Try Kampot or Phnom Penh or Siem Reap instead would be my advice.
Jamie_Lambo