Koh Rong Samloem done right Seriously

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
adamB60
Tourist
Australia

Koh Rong Samloem done right Seriously

Post by adamB60 »

Hi all

how to safeguard an investment against protection rackets, local corruption, having your lease sold and new owners not respecting previous agreements etc.

I'm a newbie here.
ex-diving instructor from Koh Tao, turned eco property developer in US.

Question:
Are there any people here with Lodging businesses on Kah Rong Samloem ?
interested in sharing their experiences, particularly w.r.t how to safeguard an investment against protection rackets, local corruption, having your lease sold and new owners not respecting previous agreements etc.

I'm particularly interested in horror stories and how they could have been avoided.

Maybe KRS or even Cambodia is the wrong location, thoughts?

I'm primarily motivated by the idea of creating a lodging business which actually grows because of we care for the local environment no plastic, regular clean-up crew.
Also using innovative building techniques to g a little higher end than average, provide microwave internet to areas that are dead spots, use high-end water purification solar powered also.
sustainable power generation using the best in class.