SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Phones, Internet, Computers and such.
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 8743
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Karma: 187
Australia

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby StroppyChops » Mon May 19, 2014 10:12 pm

I wish you well.
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
User avatar
Mrs Stroppy
Expatriate
Posts: 553
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 9:04 pm
Karma: 0
Location: Phnom Penh
Australia

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby Mrs Stroppy » Mon May 19, 2014 10:15 pm

JBTrain wrote:
StroppyChops wrote:A friend just called Mrs Stroppy's phone from Australia. This is not normally exciting, except that they called her Australian mobile number, which is disconnected, and the SIM for that number is not in the phone.

What is this strange magic?
.

Numbers can be forwarded. I have my US Google Voice number forwarded to another free VOIP US number (GrooveIP) which rings on my Cambodia phone.

If you're not using VOIP that forwarding does get expensive.
It is honestly just odd as this person doesn't have my Cambodian phone no, the Aussie sim isn't in the phone and we didn't give the Aussie no to the telco as we knew we were canceling the account.
Using Tapatalk
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 12490
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Karma: 206
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby General Mackevili » Mon May 19, 2014 11:07 pm

Digg3r wrote:... or you're full of shit...
Jeez, give it a rest. We're in the tech forum.

Please play nice guys, and for the love of God, stop talking about dicks.



It's definitely an odd happening.

Did she answer it? Was her friend possibly calling from a different time and space?

I'm just letting this roll off my tongue.... Maybe it also has CDMA and not ONLY GSM, and the phone hasn't actually been deactivated by the company. They make mistakes all the time.

First thing I'd do is call the company to confirm it's been cancelled, because if it's active still, it's going to be expensive to answer calls on it! !

And they might even charge you just while it rings.

Does it show it's getting signal? If so, can you see what network?

Also, can you place calls too?

And also try using your Cambodian phone to send it an SMS.


^ Does any of this work?
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Looking for the best deals on hotels and guesthouses in Cambodia?

Book through Agoda:

Phnom Penh
Siem Reap
Sihanoukville
Kampot
Koh Rong
User avatar
Digg3r
Expatriate
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 8:55 pm
Karma: 57
Korea North

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby Digg3r » Mon May 19, 2014 11:13 pm

CDMA finished in Australia a long, long time ago.

As for talking about dicks, it was my dick that was being talked about and you know what they say, "it's better to be talked about badly then not talked about at all"

But to play nicely I'll agree, it must be magic. Is that Copperfield fella around here somewhere?
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 8743
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Karma: 187
Australia

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby StroppyChops » Mon May 19, 2014 11:15 pm

General Mackevili wrote:Does it show it's getting signal? If so, can you see what network? Also, can you place calls too?
Yup, Cellcard. That's the point. We've been using this phone with a Cambodian SIM since we arrived and it's ringing/dialing normally for local and international calls. Definitely no redirection in place, so just does not make sense. I'll call the Australian telco and see what they're up to.
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 12490
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Karma: 206
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby General Mackevili » Tue May 20, 2014 12:27 am

Hmmmm, I think some phones now might even have a built-in SIM, and also one for roaming?

Never mind. I have no idea. Make sure you update us when you figure it out.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Looking for the best deals on hotels and guesthouses in Cambodia?

Book through Agoda:

Phnom Penh
Siem Reap
Sihanoukville
Kampot
Koh Rong
User avatar
Mrs Stroppy
Expatriate
Posts: 553
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 9:04 pm
Karma: 0
Location: Phnom Penh
Australia

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby Mrs Stroppy » Fri May 23, 2014 5:04 am

OK, we think we have this one solved. The one person who does have our Cambodian no's in Australia gave out the number to the person that called and has only just told me...
Using Tapatalk
User avatar
vladimir
The Pun-isher
Posts: 5923
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:51 pm
Karma: 154
Location: The Kremlin
Russia

Re: SIM impossibility, but not in Cambodia

Postby vladimir » Fri May 23, 2014 5:42 am

Mrs Stroppy wrote:OK, we think we have this one solved. The one person who does have our Cambodian no's in Australia gave out the number to the person that called and has only just told me...
When I get an unsolicited call, I just ask people how they got my number.

'If you don't mind me asking, how did you get my number?"
Jesus loves you...Mexico is great, right? ;)


  • Advertisement
Booking.com

Return to “Tech Zone”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests