New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Phones, Internet, Computers and such.
BOFH
Expatriate
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:27 am
Reputation: 1

New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by BOFH » Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:52 pm

I was sitting and eating my luxurious sushi with my NGO friends in BKK1 when I noticed that the place uses an ISP called SINET. Intrigued I had a look at their website at http://www.sinet.com.kh/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; and I can't tell if they're dreaming or delivering.

The first thing that jumps out at me is the lack of any Khmer letters on the page. There are none. Forget language options, this ISP doesn't need them.

Continuing down the page, they promise "150 Mbps" "divided into 50Mbps for general internet speed and 100Mbps Youtube, Google Content and local connectivity". This raises so many questions. First of all, 50 Mbps is quite a lot more than their competitors. Who are they peering with, blasting 50 Mbps through the same international uplinks as everybody else? I am guessing the 100 Mbps is the speed of their WAN cache, Squid or some other industry standard.

They also claim to provide "both IPv4 and IPv6 dual-stack from day one". I am forced to guess that they provide IPv6 in their WAN and not the actual uplink as there is no IPv6 address space in Cambodia. There is no IPv6 peering here.

How about the price then? "$1,000 per year". Per year, what the hell? Is that a monthly payment of $83.33 or 12 months paid upfront? And what the hell is up with the "10 concurrent" WiFi device limit? My access point doesn't limit the amount of connected devices to 10, why do theirs?

This is either a fishy ripoff or the most competitive alternative on the market. Does anyone know of them?
BOFH
Expatriate
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:27 am
Reputation: 1

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by BOFH » Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:02 pm

I notice they own AS131207. SINET is an acronym for Specialist Internet, or "Specialist Internet and Telecom Service Provider". AS131207 does announce IPv6, peering IPv4 with Korea and IPv6 with nobody. sinet.com.kh doesn't even have any AAAA records.

S.I Group, owned by Sok Im Holding. "Sok Im Holding: is a sole proprietary holding company with diversified businesses and investments in various key growth sectors in Telecommunications, Trading, Property, FMCG, Travel, and Hospitality in Cambodia for more than 20 years. Sok Im Holding is the preferred business partners of choice for national and international companies. We are held in high regards thanks to our humble business dealings, strong ethical and integrity standards and close relations with relevant authorities."

S.I Group is directly connected to Indobest Group Co., Ltd, "the sole partner and distributor of Japan Tobacco Inc." Internet, cigarettes and travel. Very strange.
james ten
Expatriate
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:10 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by james ten » Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:49 pm

Stay clear.
150MPBS divided into 50 and 100 already makes no sense. And what is speed allocated to 'local connectivity' even mean? Nonsense, that's what.
BOFH
Expatriate
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:27 am
Reputation: 1

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by BOFH » Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:19 pm

I know, right?

Discovering their confs this seems entirely amateurish and bogus. Hostname of 203.217.168.24 (sinet.com.kh) is mx2.sinet.com.kh. Their non-IPv6 accessible website with "IPv6 from day one" is configured as its own MX2. Pure-FTPd on TCP 21 and publicly exposed MySQL 5.5.44-0+deb7u1 on TCP 3306. Not enough boxes in their infrastrucutre it seems.

This company takes credit for creating their website: http://www.melonrouge.asia/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Even an Anonymous script kiddie could hack this ISP:

Code: Select all

exception 'Symfony\Component\Security\Core\Exception\BadCredentialsException' with message 'Bad credentials.' in /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/vendor/symfony/symfony/src/Symfony/Component/Security/Core/Authentication/Provider/UserAuthenticationProvider.php:73 Stack trace: #0 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(120): session_start() #1 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(184): Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Session\Storage\NativeSessionStorage->start() #2 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(484): Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Session\Storage\NativeSessionStorage->getBag('attributes') #3 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/vendor/symfony/symfony/src/Symfony/Component/Security/Http/Firewall/ContextListener.php(76): Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Session\Session->get('_security_main') #4 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(2939): Symfony\Component\Security\Http\Firewall\ContextListener->handle(Object(Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Event\GetResponseEvent)) #5 [internal function]: Symfony\Component\Security\Http\Firewall->onKernelRequest(Object(Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Event\GetResponseEvent), 'kernel.request', Object(Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\ContainerAwareEventDispatcher)) #6 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(2193): call_user_func(Array, Object(Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Event\GetResponseEvent), 'kernel.request', Object(Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\ContainerAwareEventDispatcher)) #7 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(2126): Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\EventDispatcher->doDispatch(Array, 'kernel.request', Object(Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Event\GetResponseEvent)) #8 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/cache/prod/classes.php(2287): Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\EventDispatcher->dispatch('kernel.request', Object(Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Event\GetResponseEvent)) #9 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/bootstrap.php.cache(3015): Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\ContainerAwareEventDispatcher->dispatch('kernel.request', Object(Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Event\GetResponseEvent)) #10 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/bootstrap.php.cache(2988): Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\HttpKernel->handleRaw(Object(Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Request), 1) #11 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/bootstrap.php.cache(3137): Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\HttpKernel->handle(Object(Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Request), 1, true) #12 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/app/bootstrap.php.cache(2381): Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\DependencyInjection\ContainerAwareHttpKernel->handle(Object(Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Request), 1, true) #13 /data/www/www.sinet.com.kh-new/web/app.php(29): Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\Kernel->handle(Object(Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Request)) #14 {main}
Instead of relying on the security of well tested WordPress it seems Melon Rouge wrote a custom admin interface using the Symfony framework. And it's broken. They call it "pulp" and advertise it as a "tailor made CMS". This shit is WordPress with extra bugs and vulnerabilities.

Really professional guys:

http://www.sinet.com.kh/index.php/2015/ ... llo-world/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.sinet.com.kh/index.php/2015/05/22/post/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.sinet.com.kh/index.php/2015/05/22/abc/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Last edited by BOFH on Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BOFH
Expatriate
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:27 am
Reputation: 1

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by BOFH » Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:28 pm

Webmail login: http://mail.sinet.com.kh/index.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Postfix Admin publicly exposed: http://uam.sinet.com.kh/postfixadmin/login.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; (username is probably [email protected], site is vulnerable to SQL injection via CVE-2014-2655 https://security-tracker.debian.org/tra ... -2014-2655" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)
Outdated Cacti installation: http://nms.sinet.com.kh/cacti/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Internal tools, probably accessible from their IP ranges: http://nms.sinet.com.kh/monitor/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

lol. Stay clear +1
james ten
Expatriate
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:10 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by james ten » Sun Sep 06, 2015 2:42 pm

Haha, good work but I don't know why you bothered to go that far :)
I'm sure once that $1000 is paid for the first year, you aren't going to hear from them again. And unlike more developed countries, there isn't really any avenue to get your money back.

So many red flags. For example, they have the same (ridiculous) 150mpbs speed with two pricing plans, 1 for up top 10 concurrent wi-fi device limit, and 1 for 18 concurrent. There is NO way for an ISP to restrict the amount of devices connected to your own wifi network (unless they somehow configure the router they supply to force this limit, there is nothing stopping you from changing this, or getting another router).
BOFH
Expatriate
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:27 am
Reputation: 1

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by BOFH » Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:03 pm

Well, I started and then I got more curious. I think I'm done now though ;-)

Indeed. Smells pump and dump. Their connection to the tobacco industry makes my brain halves itch.

At first I thought that maybe the device limit was the amount of IP addresses allocated to a subscription, but that didn't make sense at all - especially in wireless context.

They list entirely different packages on their corpoate website where they call the package "basic", "for home & basic usage": http://corp.sinet.com.kh/internet#packages" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; No mention of WiFi device limits there, however "x5" and "x7" speeds on various things.

"SINET owns and operates one of the most advanced and mature domestic and international network backbone in Cambodia." http://corp.sinet.com.kh/network-backbone" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; Strange, the only company I'm aware of which has an international uplink is Telcotech, of which 100% of the shares are owned by Ezecom. Their domestic infrastructure sounds promising, but internationally I'm going to guess they have a Telcotech carried VLAN to someone else. Again, not sure how they imagine handling v6 there.
james ten
Expatriate
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:10 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by james ten » Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:18 pm

Only a single IP addressed is leased at a time to each household/connection (applies for all cable, adsl, fibre optic, etc).
This is the line running from the router to the ISP.

The router is responsible for leasing/renewing IP address to each device connected to it, which has some theoretical limit in the tens of thousands so is a non issue.
Realistically, depending on the quality for the router, you can expect about 20 concurrent users for cheap, low end ones (the one most ISP's give you in Cambodia). For business class ones you can expect up to 100. Where more than this number needs to be connected (like say at a large shopping center), the load is balanced by adding extra access points, but connection to the internet for everyone connected will still be supplied through 1 connection (and 1 IP address) to the ISP.
BOFH
Expatriate
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:27 am
Reputation: 1

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by BOFH » Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:23 pm

"We're current using #IPv6 in our office as our daily internet need. #Cambodia #Internet." " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
"SINET is probably the first and only Cambodia Internet service provider to connect to Korea Internet Neutral Exchange KINX. #Cambodia" " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
"With Active Ethernet, every user is point to point Gigabit link 1000mbps. GePon share this speed with up to 64 subs. #Cambodia #Internet" " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; (Is this where "150 Mbps" comes from, did the sales team divide 10000 with 64 instead of 1000?)
"The good thing about being totally independent is that we can choose any upstream partner without pressure from parent company. #Cambodia" " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
"Thanks to our latest peerings, SINET is now Cambodia's most connected network. @henet #Internet #Cambodia" " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
"Cache and proxy no longer make sense in today's fast changing Web. That's why at SINET we are cache and proxy free. #Cambodia #Internet" " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; (That's why at SINET they separate your Internet speed depending on what you visit.)

Turns out SINET is something else rebranded, what was it before? http://www.moc.gov.kh/en-us/press-cente ... ent/211288" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

They are also bragging about faster v6 connectivity to postkhmer.com, which is a pretty good observation as postkhmer.com is one of the very few v6 available Cambodian websites. As far as I'm aware, it's the only v6 accessible site in the Khmer language. https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNYTLMxUcAAV1cM.png:large" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I did however notice that the network I was on when I first had the chance to test SINET was *not* v6 ready.
james ten wrote:Where more than this number needs to be connected (like say at a large shopping center), the load is balanced by adding extra access points, but connection to the internet for everyone connected will still be supplied through 1 connection (and 1 IP address) to the ISP.
That frequency pollution though. Still waiting for Khmer engineers to figure out how to properly overlap channels. Also still waiting for Khmer engineers to figure out the difference between local router timeouts and remote RADIUS timeouts. "Your Internet is working Sir, I can tell by the fact that your session is active!"
User avatar
Jacobincambodia
Expatriate
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 5:03 pm
Reputation: 35
United States of America

Re: New ISP, SINET, anyone using them?

Post by Jacobincambodia » Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:01 am

I have them at home but I have the 15mb up/down fiber plus package. I paid $600 upfront for the year. It's been exceptional so far and you can't beat $50/month for a dedicated line. Here is some email exchange from the CTO about the network backbone:

Dear Jacob,
Thanks for your mail. In terms of network backbone, we are connected to the following:

1. Hong Kong by Intra-Asia submarine cable system via Vietnam. Latency is around 32-35ms between PNH and HKG. This is the best latency to HKG.
2. Singapore by 2 different terrestrial cable system from via Thailand-Malaysia. Latency is between 37-40ms. The best latency to SNG is around 34ms.
3. Europe, Amsterdam IX via Hong Kong and SMW4 submarine cable. Latency is 270-290ms. Almost all other ISPs have latency at least 330ms to Europe as they go via US-LA-New York path.

Below link show our visible connected peering networks http://bgp.he.net/AS59318#_peers
And in terms of connectivity ranking, we are number one in Cambodia http://bgp.he.net/country/KH

Some networks in Cambodia may have better latency than others in specific areas or destinations depending on how they're connected, but overall we believe we are among the top.

best regards,
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests