Metfone Dongle

Phones, Internet, Computers and such.
Sailorman
Expatriate
Posts: 2321
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:32 am
Reputation: 0

Metfone Dongle

Post by Sailorman » Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:21 pm

For about two years I've used a Metfone dongle (limited plan) as my internet and it been alright. Recently its gotten so slow at times it hardly works. Is anyone else having this problem and know why? Best internet provider in Sihanoulville for the price. (I don't sign year contracts.)
flying chicken
Expatriate
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 5:51 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by flying chicken » Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:09 am

Some people in Siem Reap also experienced the lag today, not just from Metfone. Sometimes when my Metfone internet gotten a bit slow or not responding; I disconnected and reconnected again and got the usual speed. I am not sure what kind of plan you are on, I am on a $5 unlimited plan plus 200 free minutes call within network, but the internet gets slow after 1gb of usage.
EVERYONE BOW DOWN AND PAY EXTREME HOMAGE TO HIS MAJESTIES flying chicken©
Joker Poker
Expatriate
Posts: 1345
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 9:37 pm
Reputation: 126

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by Joker Poker » Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:41 am

Have you tried what I suggested on the other thread? It may not be the answer you wanted but it may be the one you need.

Go to 'Tools', 'Setup', then select 'Network' and 'Network type'. Then make sure you select 'UMTS Only' on the drop-down box, and click 'OK'.

You will need to be offline when you do this or you won't be able to select the network type. This will stop it from switching networks all the time and dropping out - well, it did with mine.

Hope that helps.
taabarang
Expatriate
Posts: 3858
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:49 am
Reputation: 975
Location: Outside of Kampong Cham city
United States of America

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by taabarang » Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:52 am

Joker Poker,

Thanks for that piece of advice. I've had this problem for three weeks-either I can't connect to metphone and I do, but can't connect to anything else-weak signal I suppose. Just yesterday reception returned, but I'm going to follow your advice since UMTS is the only one that works out here near Kampong Cham.
As my old Cajun bait seller used to say, "I opes you luck.
Sailorman
Expatriate
Posts: 2321
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:32 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by Sailorman » Sat Sep 06, 2014 8:37 am

I dumped Metfone this week for a fiberoptic cable internet provider. Big improvement.
User avatar
Dara
Expatriate
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:38 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by Dara » Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:05 pm

I had a low signal using metfone on my cellphone.
It takes two sims, so I put in a cell card sim and it has
much better reception than the metphone. Side by side
reading those little bars on the home screen. I was having trouble
with the metphone dongle speed also.

Does cellcard have a similar deal on dongle and usage cost ?
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 10598
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Reputation: 1026
Australia

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by StroppyChops » Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:18 pm

Watch Cellcard, their dropout zone is pretty thin. What works well in their office might not work a few blocks away if you're on the fringes of PP.
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
User avatar
Dara
Expatriate
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:38 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by Dara » Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:25 pm

It is out here on the fringes where I am getting a solid cellcard signal,
and metphone is dropping out. I am always "here" so what their signal
is like in town doesn't affect me.

Joon, on another thread, says use the cellphone as a dongle and get
the monthly plan on the telepone sim card. I would have to figure out
how to "wi-fi" and maybe it is time to do that. I kind of dislike having that
dongle sticking out the side of the machine anyway.
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 10598
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Reputation: 1026
Australia

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by StroppyChops » Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:30 pm

Yeah, that's a good strategy, not hard to do once you have done it once.
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
User avatar
Dara
Expatriate
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:38 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Metfone Dongle

Post by Dara » Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:35 pm

Thanks for the supportive comment.

For the football I will need Digi or ezecom or something like that ?

I have never succeeded in making that work. Many years I have tried
on various continents and islands. I have bought so many of those rabbit
ear things and paid so many set up fees and monthly fees. But never actual
connection. Is there a company that comes to the house and makes it work ?
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: John Bingham and 37 guests