3G blues

Phones, Internet, Computers and such.
taabarang
Expatriate
Posts: 3858
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:49 am
Reputation: 975
Location: Outside of Kampong Cham city
United States of America

3G blues

Post by taabarang » Tue Jun 24, 2014 8:13 am

I live in rural Cambodia about 10 kilometers outside of Kampong Cham city. I have no electricity and have used a 3G stick with a Metphone Sim card. It worked well for years, but now there is no connection. I use the same set-up in Kampong Cham city and it works; in fact, I'm using it now.

Recently I noticed a new relay station(Smart I've been told) not far from my home. Is it possible that this could cause interference with metphone or is it possible they've reached "a gentleman's agreement" concerning areas of coverage and have failed to notify their customers? If I decide to go with a new company how do I find out which company can reach my area? Who do you recommend? As far as I know I have the only computer in the small village so local recommendations are not available.
As my old Cajun bait seller used to say, "I opes you luck.
User avatar
Sohi
Expatriate
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 9:25 pm
Reputation: 3
Great Britain

3G blues

Post by Sohi » Tue Jun 24, 2014 8:42 am

Maybe you could buy a generic USB stick (i got one for $25) then you can try any sim in it and see which network works best
User avatar
General Mackevili
The General
Posts: 17027
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Reputation: 2001
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: 3G blues

Post by General Mackevili » Tue Jun 24, 2014 9:45 am

Sohi wrote:Maybe you could buy a generic USB stick (i got one for $25) then you can try any sim in it and see which network works best
Good idea.

Also, anyone with a smartphone with internet access could test to see if it's working from your home.

You want to make sure it's on the "3G" or "H" network, not the "2G" or "EDGE" network.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Have a story or an anonymous news tip for CEO? Need advertising? CONTACT ME

Cambodia Expats Online is the most popular community in the country. JOIN TODAY

Follow CEO on social media:

Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+
Instagram
taabarang
Expatriate
Posts: 3858
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:49 am
Reputation: 975
Location: Outside of Kampong Cham city
United States of America

Re: 3G blues

Post by taabarang » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:09 am

Thanks GeneralMac, it is indeed EDGE or sometimes another non-metphone type of nomenclature. But I think it has always been this way even when it worked, so is the notion of a new relay tower(SMART) irrelevant to my problem. I'm quite uniformed about techy things. Thanks
As my old Cajun bait seller used to say, "I opes you luck.
Sailorman
Expatriate
Posts: 2321
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 6:32 am
Reputation: 0

Re: 3G blues

Post by Sailorman » Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:00 am

I've had the metfone 3G stick for over a year and have been satisfied with it, but recently the internet has been really slow or won't connect with sites using it. Has something changed at Metfhone recently? Can anyone recommend a fiberoptic company in Snooky? Price/Contract?
Joker Poker
Expatriate
Posts: 1344
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 9:37 pm
Reputation: 126

Re: 3G blues

Post by Joker Poker » Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:58 pm

Sailorman wrote:I've had the metfone 3G stick for over a year and have been satisfied with it, but recently the internet has been really slow or won't connect with sites using it. Has something changed at Metfhone recently? Can anyone recommend a fiberoptic company in Snooky? Price/Contract?
I've been using it for around 2 years now I guess (in PP) and a couple of months ago it was really crap. I changed it to UMTS only and it has worked much better since, I had noticed that when it was on EDGE it was particularity crap. I think you need to be off-line to change the setting from memory.
giblet
Expatriate
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:01 pm
Reputation: 3

Re: 3G blues

Post by giblet » Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:46 pm

If you have a Metfone dongle, you can take it to a phone shop and have them unlock it so you can use it with other carriers. Should cost $2 or $3. My experience is trial and error--there's no real way to know which provider will work best at your house other than trying each one. If there's a Smart tower near you, I'd try them first. Looks like they actually are cheaper per GB than Metfone: http://www.smart.com.kh/en/service/internet/internet-en" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
taabarang
Expatriate
Posts: 3858
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 7:49 am
Reputation: 975
Location: Outside of Kampong Cham city
United States of America

Re: 3G blues

Post by taabarang » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:37 am

As it happens I have a generic dongle and the service has just recently started to deteriorate here in Kampong Cham. Still, I would like to know how those relay stations work. Are they multi directional or do they transmit in my direction? Like I said, I am a non compus mentis about these issues. Thanks again.
As my old Cajun bait seller used to say, "I opes you luck.
giblet
Expatriate
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:01 pm
Reputation: 3

Re: 3G blues

Post by giblet » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:39 am

I can't help you there. I had the same thing happen, but it turned out my dongle had crapped out.
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 10598
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Reputation: 1026
Australia

Re: 3G blues

Post by StroppyChops » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:50 pm

Try dropping the SIM out of the dongle (it CAN be done) and checking it with a smartphone. Should give you an idea of whether it's the dongle or the service.
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests