Thai beach declared disaster area after oil spill

Thailand is Cambodia's neighbor to the West, and this forum is dedicated to Thai news, stories, reviews, blogs, videos, Thai people and anything else related to the country. A lot of expats have both lived and worked in Cambodia and Thailand, and this area is a place to discuss all aspects of life in Thailand and what's going on there. Most topics are about Bangkok and Pattaya because of their larger populations of expatriates and tourists in those cities, but this is for all things Thai.
Doc67
Expatriate
Great Britain

Re: Thai beach declared disaster area after oil spill

Post by Doc67 »

Cowshed Cowboy wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 11:09 am I worked in the industry down there and SPRC were one of our biggest clients. i personally wouldn't dip my toes in the water anywhere in that area in normal times due to the chemical waste that finds its way into the sea from the major plants, the negative health effects are well documented, birth defects etc. I have no doubt the scale of this incident is being low balled at this stage, as is the way.
Started late on Tuesday and was brought under control a day later after spilling an estimated 50,000 litres (13,209 gallons)

A massive oil spill of 400,000 litres off the Map Ta Phut Industrial Estate in Rayong on Tuesday night

https://www.nationthailand.com/program/40011583

That's some lowballing! I wonder what the real number is?
CEOCambodiaNews
Expatriate
Cambodia

Post by CEOCambodiaNews »

The official message today is that the primary damage from the slick was not as extensive as feared (ie. was overestimated), it was contained to Rayong area, and has now been dealt with by the authorities.

Emergency centre to close as slick dissipates
700 affected locals complain about spill
published : 3 Feb 2022 at 09:10
writer: Apinya Wipatayotin and Wassana Nanuam