Newbie questions, and hello

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
Apparition
Expatriate
Cambodia

Re: Newbie questions, and hello

Post by Apparition »

Doc67 wrote: Thu Feb 10, 2022 8:19 am
Apparition wrote: Wed Feb 09, 2022 7:30 pm Hey everyone,

Here's the long version; I'm a professional musician in the UK. During lockdown I had a long think about life (I'm sure you can relate) and I decided I wanted to get out of the UK and try something new. I still make music and make a decent-ish (thanks spotify) income from it, but I realised I can survive without having to DJ if I really need to. I was originally planning on going to Vietnam, and even learned the language to a reasonable level. However, Vietnam have now reformed their visas, and it won't really work for me (at least I got a language out of it and made some friends).

I am interested in seeing what life in Cambodia is like. But I would like to know what the reality of getting a visa is like, because I don't want to just womble around SE Asia on tourist visas (I'm 40, I'm pretty sure backpacking is illegal at this point). I am working on getting a TEFL qualification, as I'd be happy to teach if it offered me the chance to stay for a while.

Does anyone have any ideas/advice/moral support?

Thanks for reading my essay,

Jon