Best place to discuss language learning?

Have questions or resources regarding Khmer Culture? This forum is all about the Kingdom of Cambodia's culture. Khmer language, Cambodian weddings, French influence, Cambodian architecture, Cambodian politics, Khmer customs, etc? This is the place. Living in Cambodia can cause you to experience a whole new level of culture shock, so feel free to talk about all things related to the Khmer people, and their traditions. And if you want something in Khmer script translated into English, you will probably find what you need.
DagBong
Tourist
Norway

Best place to discuss language learning?

Post by DagBong »

Hi guys!

It's my first post here so please bear with me. I'm currently studying Khmer script on my own while in Europe waiting to get back to Cambodia. As an alternative to finding a tutor online I'm wondering if there are any good forums to discuss language specific issues? A place both to ask and answer specific questions but also to meet people in the same situation. This forum looks great, but there's not so much activity here specifically related to learning Khmer I think. I've also search Reddit but not there either.

As an example, I'm currently struggling to find out which consonant in a consonant cluster that decides the pronunciation of the next vowel. Like ម្ចាស់​​ is pronounced "Mdja", so there it would be the subscripted ច​ that causes the ា to be pronounced "a" rather than "ia" I belive, but how do i know this? My initial guess would be it would be pronounced "Mdjia" because of the ម consonant class, but not so according to google translate. How to know which consonant takes precedence?
Jamie_Lambo
The Cool Boxing Guy
Great Britain

Re: Best place to discuss language learning?

Post by Jamie_Lambo »

DagBong wrote:Hi guys!