Dogs/Moving/Vets/Boarding

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
MarySharma
Tourist

Dogs/Moving/Vets/Boarding

Post by MarySharma »

I see so many contradictory posts about pets, especially dogs. Some people say, dont bring them, other say, they have them and they do fine. Can someone please answer from personal experience? THANK you in advance. I am an US teacher considering taking a post there.

1. How was the move with your dog (I have a 50 pound mutt)

2. Are there pet friendly apartments?

3. Are there places to walk your dog?

4. Are there boarding places for when I travel, or a robust gorups of expats that dog sit?

5. Are there good Vets available?

6. Can I travel with my pet in Cambodia? Meaning on Tuk Tuks, on the limited train trip, or by bus?
BeccaSmith
Tourist
Great Britain

Re: Dogs/Moving/Vets/Boarding

Post by BeccaSmith »

Hi Mary!

A few answers to some of your questions;
2. Are there pet-friendly apartments?
Absolutely! Depending on where you're looking to be based it can be easy to find somewhere with a garden too. The rental market is great at the moment for any rentees (not so great for Landlords) because there are so many properties available.
3. Are there places to walk your dog?