Curious on the best industry to look for work in PP

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
HappyChappy
Expatriate
Great Britain

Curious on the best industry to look for work in PP

Post by HappyChappy »

SO! The question on everyone's mind right?

Basically my background is in sales.......but that was in the UK and I am NOT leaving, I LOVE it here. There are a lot of misconception about this country, the best way to learn in my opinion, is to DO.

So my question is, do I rely on my current skillset in Phnom Penh or find a new industry, in your opinion what is the best industry in the city for a white male to attempt to get into, please keep in mind I'm only looking to break even.

Funny answers welcome, but as always, thank you in advance for your positive, helpful feedback.

- HappyChappy
Mr.November
Expatriate
Poland

Re: Curious on the best industry to look for work in PP

Post by Mr.November »

Times are not as great as previously and it may take longer than usual to find a job for a foreigner, and with a lower compensation than say a year ago. In terms of Sales, real estate industry is a place with vacancies. But you have to think what value would you bring, as they focus on sales mostly to the locals and the Chinese (or other Asians), and it's all based on a lie (property is soon to be in a dire situation).