Teaching English as a foreign language with a postgraduate certificate in Cambodia?

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
TeacherBelgian
Tourist

Teaching English as a foreign language with a postgraduate certificate in Cambodia?

Post by TeacherBelgian »

Hello everyone,

I'm a 24 year old student from Belgium. For quite a few years I have been toying with the idea of teaching English as a foreign language overseas in Asia. Some countries that have crossed my mind were: Philippines, China, Japan, Thailand, Cambodia.

The problem with most countries is that there is a minimum requirement of holding a bachelor's degree.
I fully understand that they want to get the best English teachers they can possibly get, but it also scares a lot of qualified teachers away.
I love teaching. I'm a very good public speaker. I'm also a good listener.
I do hold an associate's degree in paralegal studies and I hold a postgraduate certificate in strategic management and leadership. I don't hold a bachelor's degree and therefor, in most cases, I'm not even being given a chance to obtain a working visa despite my postgraduate certificate being higher than a bachelor's degree.

Some governments are so strict with the requirements that they fail to look at the applicants case-by-case.

I am currently looking into teaching in Cambodia.
Phnom Phen drew my attention.