Cambodia in the News: Travelling Through History

Have questions or resources regarding Khmer Culture? This forum is all about the Kingdom of Cambodia's culture. Khmer language, Cambodian weddings, French influence, Cambodian architecture, Cambodian politics, Khmer customs, etc? This is the place. Living in Cambodia can cause you to experience a whole new level of culture shock, so feel free to talk about all things related to the Khmer people, and their traditions. And if you want something in Khmer script translated into English, you will probably find what you need.
dontbeasourlemon
Expatriate
United States of America

Cambodia in the News: Travelling Through History

Post by dontbeasourlemon »

I thought it might be interesting to see how Cambodia has appeared in the papers over the years. I have a paid subscript to Newspapers.com (mainly for a genealogy project) so I will share what I find for the interested parties. Note most of the available articles are from the USA. The first mention I found was in The Pennsylvania Packet/ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania/Friday, June 03, 1785 - Page 2. It is a fleeting mention of Cambodia in a publication talking of a ship's voyage on the Pacific Ocean. It briefly mentions the French's improvements to a settlement near the area of Chochin China (Vietnam) and Cambodia and the people there.

. :lol: . Image
Clutch Cargo
Expatriate
Cambodia

Re: Cambodia in the News: Travelling Through History

Post by Clutch Cargo »

dontbeasourlemon
Expatriate
United States of America

Great link! Yeah, I had to Google it too. I had no idea what was happening when I first pulled it up. 😅
SternAAlbifrons
Expatriate
Pitcairn Island

Post by SternAAlbifrons »

Fab topic - the first post goes straight to one of the most vexatious subjects of "The Enlightenment"
- who was the first "person" (ie, white male) to "discover" the Jungle Fowl, the progenitor of the domestic chicken.