Salary expectation for a teacher outside of Phnon Penh

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
xandreu
Expatriate
Great Britain

Salary expectation for a teacher outside of Phnon Penh

Post by xandreu »

I have a couple of years teaching experience in Phnom Penh but I'm looking to relocate to one of the smaller towns.

I've kind of been offered a job but they want to know my salary expectation and I'm not sure what to say to be honest. I know that I shouldn't expect the same kind of salary I get in PP, but how much lower are teachers paid in the smaller towns? (I don't really want to say where exactly as I want to remain reasonably anonymous, but it's not Siem Reap).

What would a realistic salary expectation be for a full time teaching position for a teacher with 2 years experience in a smaller provincial town?
The difference between animals and humans is that animals would never allow the dumb ones to lead the pack.
lostjeremy
Expatriate

Re: Salary expectation for a teacher outside of Phnon Penh

Post by lostjeremy »

Depends what kind of school. Is it a proper international school or just an abc123 herd em in and herd em out school?

When I see posts about teachers on this forum or on Youtube it looks like most posters lump teachers into this backpacker $1000 a month group and don't know true salaries even in Phnom Penh.