2 Questions: 1. Teaching in Cambodia 2. Medications in Cambodia

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
Dumbinic
Tourist
United States of America

2 Questions: 1. Teaching in Cambodia 2. Medications in Cambodia

Post by Dumbinic »

1. Teaching:

I have three years English Teaching experience in Saigon and have a CELTA cert (I did the 4 week course) along with a good quality but, I am ashamed to say, fake degree. But my CV isn't all terrible; I am a published playwright, screenwriter and whilst living in Saigon I managed to get a children's novel published in Vietnamese by the biggest publisher in the land. Employers seem to think that as I have had a kid's book published I will be good with children. This assumption is of course completely incorrect but that's on them.

What is the current job market like for lowly Teflers in PP? (I am white, 45 years old, native speaker)
Will my fake degree pass as legit or will I need all my documentation notarised, translated into Khmer, etc (as is the case in Vietnam) in order to secure a work permit?
Can I get a job that would provide a work permit without a degree?
(I would obviously feel far more comfortable avoiding having to use my fake degree at all.)
Is it possible to get a work permit 'under the table'?
What is the situation regarding Business Visas etc? I don't really want to be leaving the country every 3 months.