Do *not* pay for "blue sky"

If you are looking for a business to buy in Cambodia, you've come to the right place! This is a section where owners can post their businesses for sale and where others in the community can ask questions about starting a business here. Foreigners can own 100% of a business here in Cambodia, and it's a pretty simple process to buy or sell, whether it's a bar, restaurant, hotel, or anything else. Have questions about what paperwork is needed for your company? Ask away. Curious if the expat bar on Street 136 selling for $100,000 is a good deal? Start a discussion on CEO and we'll let you know what we think.
Dangerous Dave
Expatriate
United States of America

Do *not* pay for "blue sky"

Post by Dangerous Dave »

Someone in a thread I started with a question recently asked why anyone should continue to answer all of my questions if I was never going to offer anything else. So here goes. Before moving to Cambodia I was a professor of Economics for fifteen years and, before that, I worked in the field of Economic Development for ten. This is the career field within which persons are tasked with attracting new business to a town, retaining and expanding the businesses the town already has, and getting people started with their business ideas -- in which capacity I had many opportunities to counsel individuals who wanted to buy someone else's existing business.

And here's the thing I learned about that: Effectively nobody who owns and operates a business is capable of fairly assessing its resale value, for the understandable reason that they are far too intimately invested in that very question. In particular, business owners *always* expect a prospective buyer to pay for not just the assets of the business, but for the "fact" of the existing customer base as well. "I've built this dingy little storefront into a $700/day retail trade," so the logic goes, "so now someone has to pay me for that accomplishment."