Living off part-time job

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expats Online has a huge community of long-term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, or anywhere else in the Kingdom. You're also welcome to ask about visa and work permit questions as well, as the immigration rules change often, especially since COVID-19. Don't be shy, ask CEO's community anything!
grdnr13
Tourist
United States of America

Living off part-time job

Post by grdnr13 »

Hello!

I'm new and I'd just like to start off by saying that you all have a wonderful community here!

But on to the issue at hand: I'm a recent college grad who has been planning for some time to spend 1+ year(s) in Phnom Penh doing research at Calmette Hospital. Calmette has very limited funds, so I was forced to find funding from outside institutions. I thought I had secured that funding (was looking at about $10,000 for the year - not to pocket any, just for living expenses - seem reasonable?), but unfortunately I recently found out that my funding had been cut for bureaucratic reasons.

So now I'm scrambling to find new funding, but in the meantime, I'm wondering if it's feasible to find a part-time job in Phnom Penh that I could support myself with while still spending ~20ish hours/week at the hospital? Those hours aren't set, I'm just estimating what my time commitment at the hospital will be. Thank you guys so much for any help, opinions, or information you can give me!

Edit: I've already obtained a business visa; it's valid through December 2017
epidemiks
Expatriate
Australia

Re: Living off part-time job

Post by epidemiks »

grdnr13 wrote:Hello!