How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Discussions about restaurants, cafes, coffee shops or bars in Cambodia. Feel free to write any reviews you have, whether its the best burger you've had in Phnom Penh or the worse pizza in sihanoukville, we want to read it! Discussions about Khmer dishes are also in here, or you can leave your own. If you own a restaurant, feel free to let the expat community know about it here so that we can come check it out. Found a favorite cafe or have a place we should avoid? Tell us about it. Asian recipes & food porn is always welcome.
User avatar
OrangeDragon
Site Admin
Posts: 4189
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 8:05 pm
Karma: 8
United States of America

How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby OrangeDragon » Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:44 pm

So, google has a cool feature called the data highlighter. That means if we structure data a certain consistent way, and i tell google what that way is, it will index it specifically under that category. One such category is restaurant reviews.

Name: (required)
Address: (required)
Telephone: (required)
Opening hours:
Cuisine:
Image:
URL:
Reservation URL:
Menu URL:
Rating: (1-5 if you use it)

Just copy that and toss it at the beginning, using only the required lines and any others you feel apply, and you'll be doing the site a great service! If you don't, please don't be too upset if I edit your OP with the 3 required lines included... as I'm now going to go and do for the reviews already here.

Thanks gang!
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 12494
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Karma: 207
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby General Mackevili » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:57 pm

OrangeDragon wrote:
If you don't, please don't be too upset if I edit your OP with the 3 required lines included... as I'm now going to go and do for the reviews already here.

Thanks gang!
Cool! Thanks for the heads up.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Looking for the best deals on hotels and guesthouses in Cambodia?

Book through Agoda:

Phnom Penh
Siem Reap
Sihanoukville
Kampot
Koh Rong
picooie
Expatriate
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 1:50 pm
Karma: 0

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby picooie » Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:24 pm

it seems pretty silly requiring a phone number for a restaurant review. So if you did not remember to get a business card for a restaurant you cannot give an opinion on the restaurant? Silly

picooie
User avatar
OrangeDragon
Site Admin
Posts: 4189
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 8:05 pm
Karma: 8
United States of America

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby OrangeDragon » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:28 pm

Like I said, if people don't I'll come behind them and update their post with it. Most places can be googled for that info.
User avatar
AE86
Expatriate
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:36 am
Karma: 75
Japan

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby AE86 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:03 pm

I'd structure it like so because I'm lazy to read.

City: (PP, SHV, SR, etc)
Name:
Cuisine:
Rating: (1-5 stars)


Summary - Whatever the person wants to say

Address: (required)
Telephone: (required)
Opening hours:
Cuisine:
Image:
URL:
Reservation URL:
Menu URL:


That way I can determine deal breakers very quickly like city location, cuisine, or perceived rating. Summary will then convince me whether or not I want to go, and if I do, I'll take a look at the contact info later on.
Reckless driving cucumber - 成
User avatar
LeesaJohnson
Expatriate
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:21 pm
Karma: 0
Location: London

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby LeesaJohnson » Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:39 pm

Nice Structure for a restaurant review.
User avatar
Duncan
Sir Duncan
Posts: 3048
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Karma: 115
Location: Wonder Why Central

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby Duncan » Sat Mar 18, 2017 12:35 pm

[ Quote } So, google has a cool feature called the data highlighter. That means if we structure data a certain consistent way, and i tell google what that way is, it will index it specifically under that category. One such category is restaurant reviews.



I typed in '' restaurant reviews '' and it came up with KFC and Mc Donalds . ,,,,,, What more would the average person want to know.
Cambodia,,,, Don't fall in love with her.
Like the spoilt child she is, she will not be happy till she destroys herself from within and breaks your heart.


  • Advertisement
Booking.com

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Getting Your Fill”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests