How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Discussions about restaurants, cafes, coffee shops or bars in Cambodia. Feel free to write any reviews you have, whether its the best burger you've had in Phnom Penh or the worse pizza in sihanoukville, we want to read it! Discussions about Khmer dishes are also in here, or you can leave your own. If you own a restaurant, feel free to let the expat community know about it here so that we can come check it out. Found a favorite cafe or have a place we should avoid? Tell us about it. Asian recipes & questions are always welcome.
OrangeDragon
Site Admin
Posts: 4189
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 8:05 pm
Karma: 10
United States of America

How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by OrangeDragon » Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:44 pm

So, google has a cool feature called the data highlighter. That means if we structure data a certain consistent way, and i tell google what that way is, it will index it specifically under that category. One such category is restaurant reviews.

Name: (required)
Address: (required)
Telephone: (required)
Opening hours:
Cuisine:
Image:
URL:
Reservation URL:
Menu URL:
Rating: (1-5 if you use it)

Just copy that and toss it at the beginning, using only the required lines and any others you feel apply, and you'll be doing the site a great service! If you don't, please don't be too upset if I edit your OP with the 3 required lines included... as I'm now going to go and do for the reviews already here.

Thanks gang!
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 14631
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Karma: 753
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by General Mackevili » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:57 pm

OrangeDragon wrote:
If you don't, please don't be too upset if I edit your OP with the 3 required lines included... as I'm now going to go and do for the reviews already here.

Thanks gang!
Cool! Thanks for the heads up.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Have a story or an anonymous news tip for CEO? Need advertising? CONTACT ME

Cambodia Expats Online is the most popular community in the country. JOIN TODAY

Follow CEO on social media:

Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+
Instagram
picooie
Expatriate
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 1:50 pm
Karma: 1

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by picooie » Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:24 pm

it seems pretty silly requiring a phone number for a restaurant review. So if you did not remember to get a business card for a restaurant you cannot give an opinion on the restaurant? Silly

picooie
OrangeDragon
Site Admin
Posts: 4189
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 8:05 pm
Karma: 10
United States of America

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by OrangeDragon » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:28 pm

Like I said, if people don't I'll come behind them and update their post with it. Most places can be googled for that info.
AE86
Expatriate
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:36 am
Karma: 78
Japan

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by AE86 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:03 pm

I'd structure it like so because I'm lazy to read.

City: (PP, SHV, SR, etc)
Name:
Cuisine:
Rating: (1-5 stars)


Summary - Whatever the person wants to say

Address: (required)
Telephone: (required)
Opening hours:
Cuisine:
Image:
URL:
Reservation URL:
Menu URL:


That way I can determine deal breakers very quickly like city location, cuisine, or perceived rating. Summary will then convince me whether or not I want to go, and if I do, I'll take a look at the contact info later on.
Reckless driving cucumber - 成
User avatar
LeesaJohnson
Expatriate
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:21 pm
Karma: 0
Location: London

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by LeesaJohnson » Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:39 pm

Nice Structure for a restaurant review.
User avatar
Duncan
Sir Duncan
Posts: 4338
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Karma: 485
Location: Wonder Why Central

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by Duncan » Sat Mar 18, 2017 12:35 pm

[ Quote } So, google has a cool feature called the data highlighter. That means if we structure data a certain consistent way, and i tell google what that way is, it will index it specifically under that category. One such category is restaurant reviews.



I typed in '' restaurant reviews '' and it came up with KFC and Mc Donalds . ,,,,,, What more would the average person want to know.
Cambodia,,,, Don't fall in love with her.
Like the spoilt child she is, she will not be happy till she destroys herself from within and breaks your heart.
ramzchillin
Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 1:31 pm
Karma: 1
Singapore

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by ramzchillin » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:05 pm

thanks for sharing!
User avatar
whiteribbon
Expatriate
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:45 pm
Karma: 96
Switzerland

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by whiteribbon » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:10 pm

ramzchillin wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:05 pm
thanks for sharing!
@ramzchillin why are you digging up all these old posts?
mistaken for strangers
kiwiincambodia
Expatriate
Posts: 4063
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:06 pm
Karma: 351
Korea North

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Post by kiwiincambodia » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:13 pm

whiteribbon wrote:
ramzchillin wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:05 pm
thanks for sharing!
@ramzchillin why are you digging up all these old posts?
Building up post count so they can enter the darknet. LOL
Check out my website for all things Kiwi in Cambodia at https://tiny.cc/j410iy
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arget, Moe and 25 guests