Current market rate for a Khmer language tutor?

This is a part of our Cambodia forums to chat about anything Cambodia-related. This discussion forum is at the top of our site because it's usually the busiest part of the expat community chatter with random topics on just about everything, including expat life, Khmer politics, Cambodian blogs we have or have come across, or whatever else our members want to discuss. Whether you're an expatriate, tourist, Cambodian or random traveler just passing through South East Asia, you are welcome to talk about anything or start new topics yourselves.
valorem
Tourist
United States of America

Current market rate for a Khmer language tutor?

Post by valorem » Sat Nov 23, 2019 11:37 am

I am wondering if I should engage a private tutor to teach me conversational Khmer. I am a complete beginner and that is the reason the candidate should be fluent in English.

What is the current hourly rate to hire a native Khmer speaker?
explorer
Expatriate
Australia

Re: Current market rate for a Khmer language tutor?

Post by explorer » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:13 pm

If you make friends with Cambodians learning English, many of them will teach you for free. They help you with Khmer, and you help them with English.
## I thought I knew all the answers, but they changed all the questions. ##
Bitte_Kein_Lexus
Expatriate

Post by Bitte_Kein_Lexus » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:23 pm

explorer wrote:If you make friends with Cambodians learning English, many of them will teach you for free. They help you with Khmer, and you help them with English.
That's fine to help basic conversational skills and improve vocabulary later on, but completely useless otherwise as they'll have methodology or training. To answer the original question, the current rates are around $7-12 I think. You can probably find someone for $5, but as with most things, you get what you pay for.
Ex Bitteeinbit/LexusSchmexus
Tarndog
Expatriate
Cambodia

Post by Tarndog » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:24 pm