Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

This is a part of our Cambodia forums to chat about anything, whether it relates to Cambodia or not. This discussion forum is at the top of our site because it's usually the busiest part of the expat community chatter with random topics on just about everything, including expat life, Khmer politics, Cambodian blogs we have or have come across, or whatever else our members want to discuss. Whether you're an expatriate, tourist, Cambodian or random traveler just passing through South East Asia, you are welcome to talk about anything or start new topics yourselves.
nightmare.believer
Expatriate
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 3:25 am
Karma: 0
United States of America

Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by nightmare.believer » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:32 am

Specifically, how can I tell if a Motorola RAZR V3 cell phone will work in Cambodia? There should be a place in back of the phone for a SIM card. But are there phones that will not work? Can a New Motorola RAZR V3 be locked so I cant just put in a SIM that I get in Cambodia and it'll work?

Image
Soi Dog
Expatriate
Posts: 2236
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 8:53 am
Karma: 4

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by Soi Dog » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:48 am

I thought phones were only "locked" if you purchased them at a big discount as part of a contract with a specific carrier, which I have never done. I've never had a problem with any phone I bought at a retail shop.
milkncereal
Tourist
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 7:59 am
Karma: 0

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by milkncereal » Tue Jun 03, 2014 4:51 am

where did you buy the phone from? aka what country (usa might be a problem)
nightmare.believer
Expatriate
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 3:25 am
Karma: 0
United States of America

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by nightmare.believer » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:17 am

milkncereal wrote:where did you buy the phone from? aka what country (usa might be a problem)
I bought one in Thailand years ago. It has worked there and in Cambodia. Never tried it in the USA. I want to get another one here in the USA, to use in Cambodia and Thailand as well. If they are "unlocked," I imagine that means that they will work in Cambodia and Thailand. But I am not sure, ergo this here thread.
User avatar
phuketrichard
Expatriate
Posts: 5933
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 5:17 pm
Karma: 298
Location: the far side of the moon
Aruba

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by phuketrichard » Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:40 am

all phones will work, BUT u need a phone that can accept local sim card an is not locked to a certain carrier ( what they do in the states)
US phones can be unlocked but u need to make sure it will accept a sim or mini sim card

I use my thai Nokias all over the world along with my AIS sim ( open for roaming) or a local sim( have had them for us, Laos, Cambodia)
In a nation run by swine, all pigs are upward-mobile and the rest of us are fucked until we can put our acts together: not necessarily to win, but mainly to keep from losing completely. HST
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 12614
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Karma: 217
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by General Mackevili » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:25 am

Just make sure it's "quad band", meaning it will work on all 4 major GSM frequencies.

And unlocked if you want to avoid the hassle of trying to get it unlocked here.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Looking for the best deals on hotels and guesthouses in Cambodia?

Book through Agoda:

Phnom Penh
Siem Reap
Sihanoukville
Kampot
Koh Rong
King Keil
Expatriate
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 11:47 pm
Karma: 11
Armenia

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by King Keil » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:36 pm

Never heard about that phone. Some state of the art shit I guess.
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 12614
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Karma: 217
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:
United States of America

Re: Cell phones that will work in Cambodia

Post by General Mackevili » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:52 pm

nightmare.believer wrote: a Motorola RAZR V3
King Keil wrote:Never heard about that phone. Some state of the art shit I guess.
It's at least 8 years old, I'm guessing.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Looking for the best deals on hotels and guesthouses in Cambodia?

Book through Agoda:

Phnom Penh
Siem Reap
Sihanoukville
Kampot
Koh Rong
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

  • Advertisement
Booking.com

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post