Aircon Inverters

This is a part of our Cambodia forums to chat about anything, whether it relates to Cambodia or not. This discussion forum is at the top of our site because it's usually the busiest part of the expat community chatter with random topics on just about everything, including expat life, Khmer politics, Cambodian blogs we have or have come across, or whatever else our members want to discuss. Whether you're an expatriate, tourist, Cambodian or random traveler just passing through South East Asia, you are welcome to talk about anything or start new topics yourselves.
thePeck
Expatriate
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 10:06 pm
Reputation: 6
Location: Russey Keo
United States of America

Aircon Inverters

Post by thePeck » Fri Apr 29, 2016 1:05 pm

Now it's probably due to the lack of rain in PP and other things but I was wondering about the aircons with inverters.

I previously bought a voltage regulator because the aircons wouldn't work due to the low voltage at night. Well now that isn't working now. The voltage is dropping so low that the regulator can't work and the aircons are blowing hot again. I know the inverters are supposed to save you money as well but am I right in assuming that they operate at 110v with 220v incoming? So they use less power and is the power drops below it doesn't matter to the aircon. Right?

I don't mind being hot during the day and while I'm working but when I sleep it's one of my enormous pet peeves to be sweating in bed without doing extracurricular actives lol.
User avatar
beaker
Expatriate
Posts: 780
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:45 am
Reputation: 74
Location: Ta Khmao
Cambodia

Re: Aircon Inverters

Post by beaker » Fri Apr 29, 2016 4:50 pm

The typical inverters run on DC and supply AC.
A transformer would give 110v from 200v, or what have you, we use one on our refrigerator and it works well and no problem as the input voltage had a wide range and keeps output at a constant 110v.
An inverter air conditioner has a compressor that is capable of switching off and on as needed conventional air conditioners have compressors that always run and use more power.
We use a small Panasonic inverter air conditioner and it runs all night without a problem. I have hung a thick thermal blanket up to block half the room off making it 4x3 meters instead of 4x6 to save on power. We use it every night costs an extra $20-$25 a month.
"i'm the one who has to die, when it's time for me to die, so let me live my life the way i want to"
jimi hendrix
thePeck
Expatriate
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 10:06 pm
Reputation: 6
Location: Russey Keo
United States of America

Re: Aircon Inverters

Post by thePeck » Sat May 07, 2016 3:34 pm

Thanks for that Beaker. So the unit inside is the only thing that runs from the lower voltage. The compressor still runs on the standard or does it run through the unit? I'm just curious if it would solve the problem.

I don't know but what it sounds like is I might need to remove them from the regulator as sometimes it drops too low to properly run it seems.

Oh and sorry for a long response, I've been lazy.
User avatar
beaker
Expatriate
Posts: 780
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:45 am
Reputation: 74
Location: Ta Khmao
Cambodia

Re: Aircon Inverters

Post by beaker » Sat May 07, 2016 3:51 pm

No they both run on the same voltage. Your normal house current just users less over all as the compressor cycles on and off.

On our Panasonic model you can also just run the one fan, the outside one, for a quieter sound and less overall power use and cost.
We are comfortable at the highest temp setting, 30°C and the single fan on lowest fan speed setting of 1.
I don't need it icy cold just like it not to be hot for sleeping.
"i'm the one who has to die, when it's time for me to die, so let me live my life the way i want to"
jimi hendrix
thePeck
Expatriate
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 10:06 pm
Reputation: 6
Location: Russey Keo
United States of America

Re: Aircon Inverters

Post by thePeck » Sat May 07, 2016 10:54 pm

I may just be thinking about it wrong.

My intent is to be able to use it with lower voltage due to fluctuations. Right now I'm looking at my voltage regulator meter and the incoming is dropping to 150v but hovers a lot at 190-200v.

So it the aircon runs on 110v but has a transformer to reduce the incoming 220v and the inverter goes AC->DC. Am I right?

Actually while writing this it could be a problem due to the existing non-inverter compressors. During normal use the amps stay very low, once the voltage drops the amps shoot up. I haven't seen really how high since the needle swings widely at that time but the regulator does have a 25amp fuse that will interrupt the power and the compressors kick off and the amp return to normal.
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cautious colin, Google [Bot], Temptation and 274 guests