Computer and Voltage issues help

Ask us anything. Cambodia Expat's Online has a huge community of long term expats that can answer any question you may have about life in Cambodia. Have some questions you want to ask before you move to Cambodia? Ask them here. Our community can also answer any questions you have about how to find a job or what kind of work is available for expats in Cambodia, whether you're looking for info about Phnom Penh, Siem Reap or anywhere else in the Kingdom. Don't be shy, ask CEO's members anything!
User avatar
juansweetpotato
Expatriate
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:45 pm
Reputation: 75

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by juansweetpotato » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:33 pm

StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:27 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:24 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:51 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:49 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:42 pm

The big inline ones or the small boxes?
Both, iirc the digital one's are a bit better. Average consumption is anything from a third more to double :shock:
1200r average renters rate becomes 2400r.
Well that sucks. Now googling to see if UPS do the same/similar...
Everything uses some power, but the UPS is basically the same as a lap top power supply - a voltage regulator with an overload cut out and a battery. The bigger the UPS, the bigger the cost in running it. But you would be hard pushed to need 4kw for a UPS unless you're mining bitcoins or something.
Can't find any reasonable data on whether a UPS kicks your power bill, half suggests no change, others suggest barely recordable change.
As I suggested in the above post, if you have a normal desktop with a 400w power supply, you just need a UPS that matches its power requirements - ie minimal consumption costs incurred for the UPS.
"Can you spare some cutter for an old man?"
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 10598
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Reputation: 1011
Australia

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by StroppyChops » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:37 pm

juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:33 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:27 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:24 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:51 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:49 pm


Both, iirc the digital one's are a bit better. Average consumption is anything from a third more to double :shock:
1200r average renters rate becomes 2400r.
Well that sucks. Now googling to see if UPS do the same/similar...
Everything uses some power, but the UPS is basically the same as a lap top power supply - a voltage regulator with an overload cut out and a battery. The bigger the UPS, the bigger the cost in running it. But you would be hard pushed to need 4kw for a UPS unless you're mining bitcoins or something.
Can't find any reasonable data on whether a UPS kicks your power bill, half suggests no change, others suggest barely recordable change.
As I suggested in the above post, if you have a normal desktop with a 400w power supply, you just need a UPS that matches its power requirements - ie minimal consumption costs incurred for the UPS.
Oh, I understood you JSP, but it's hard to tell from your post if this is your view (and therefore correct :D ) or you're basing it on some science... obviously one would think that the bigger a UPS the bigger the net gain/loss in power, but then you start to consider Tesla's Powerwall, which is effectively a big UPS.
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
User avatar
juansweetpotato
Expatriate
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:45 pm
Reputation: 75

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by juansweetpotato » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:42 pm

StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:37 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:33 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:27 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:24 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:51 pm

Well that sucks. Now googling to see if UPS do the same/similar...
Everything uses some power, but the UPS is basically the same as a lap top power supply - a voltage regulator with an overload cut out and a battery. The bigger the UPS, the bigger the cost in running it. But you would be hard pushed to need 4kw for a UPS unless you're mining bitcoins or something.
Can't find any reasonable data on whether a UPS kicks your power bill, half suggests no change, others suggest barely recordable change.
As I suggested in the above post, if you have a normal desktop with a 400w power supply, you just need a UPS that matches its power requirements - ie minimal consumption costs incurred for the UPS.
Oh, I understood you JSP, but it's hard to tell from your post if this is your view (and therefore correct :D ) or you're basing it on some science... obviously one would think that the bigger a UPS the bigger the net gain/loss in power, but then you start to consider Tesla's Powerwall, which is effectively a big UPS.
Ok Stroppy, time to get it out and show us. Just exactly how big is your telefunkun UPS?

This one's for Hanno. Tell Mrs Stroppy to cover her eyes.
Last edited by juansweetpotato on Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Can you spare some cutter for an old man?"
User avatar
StroppyChops
The Missionary Man
Posts: 10598
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 11:24 am
Reputation: 1011
Australia

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by StroppyChops » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:45 pm

juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:42 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:37 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:33 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:27 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:24 pm

Everything uses some power, but the UPS is basically the same as a lap top power supply - a voltage regulator with an overload cut out and a battery. The bigger the UPS, the bigger the cost in running it. But you would be hard pushed to need 4kw for a UPS unless you're mining bitcoins or something.
Can't find any reasonable data on whether a UPS kicks your power bill, half suggests no change, others suggest barely recordable change.
As I suggested in the above post, if you have a normal desktop with a 400w power supply, you just need a UPS that matches its power requirements - ie minimal consumption costs incurred for the UPS.
Oh, I understood you JSP, but it's hard to tell from your post if this is your view (and therefore correct :D ) or you're basing it on some science... obviously one would think that the bigger a UPS the bigger the net gain/loss in power, but then you start to consider Tesla's Powerwall, which is effectively a big UPS.
Ok Stroppy, time to get it out and show us. Just exactly how big is your telefunkun UPS?

This one's for Hanno. Tell Mrs Stroppy to cover her eyes.
FFS - is it not possible to have a reasonable conversation around here any more?
Bodge: This ain't Kansas, and the neighbours ate Toto!
User avatar
juansweetpotato
Expatriate
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:45 pm
Reputation: 75

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by juansweetpotato » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:49 pm

StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:45 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:42 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:37 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:33 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:27 pm

Can't find any reasonable data on whether a UPS kicks your power bill, half suggests no change, others suggest barely recordable change.
As I suggested in the above post, if you have a normal desktop with a 400w power supply, you just need a UPS that matches its power requirements - ie minimal consumption costs incurred for the UPS.
Oh, I understood you JSP, but it's hard to tell from your post if this is your view (and therefore correct :D ) or you're basing it on some science... obviously one would think that the bigger a UPS the bigger the net gain/loss in power, but then you start to consider Tesla's Powerwall, which is effectively a big UPS.
Ok Stroppy, time to get it out and show us. Just exactly how big is your telefunkun UPS?

This one's for Hanno. Tell Mrs Stroppy to cover her eyes.
FFS - is it not possible to have a reasonable conversation around here any more?
I'm
Obviously not. I take the time and trouble to help and you get all Stroppy.if you don't believe me maybe JB can help.

Edit: I was trying to bring some humour into an otherwise dry topic for most people. Obviously it wasn't the right time or place for you. Soz.
I just looked up the Tesla units, I thought you were actually talking about one of the real Tesla's theories.
For those that don't know, and I didn't, the Tesla company released a new battery/ solar power solution in 2015. It's a bit pricey though.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_Powerwall
Image
"Can you spare some cutter for an old man?"
kyleincambo
Expatriate
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:30 pm
Reputation: 13
United States of America

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by kyleincambo » Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:37 pm

Well this question went from useful information into something that has gone so far over my head I dont even know where to begin. So to bring it all back on course I went out and bought the cheapest UPS i could find $35 which more than covers my 450w computer. Needless to say the computer restarts drastically reduced. Unfortunately not completely. Its crazy watching the fluctuation in power. I know that has had something to do with it. I then made a few modifications to some of my settings and no more computer restarts. So will say this was all a success. Now if my EDC bill goes way up Ill have to reconsider. And by the way paying my EDC bill at the EDC was straight up madness. I had to stand and watch for five minutes before I realized what had to be done.

Im glad I only pay 770kwh riel though. SO Im expecting not a huge jump in bill price.

Now you guys can go back to talking about whatever the heck it was you were blabbing about.
User avatar
Username Taken
Raven
Posts: 9890
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 6:53 pm
Reputation: 1476
Contact:
Cambodia

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by Username Taken » Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:22 pm

One UPS is highly unlikely to send you EDC bill way up.

Glad you got it sorted out. :thumb:
... give 'em a quick, short, sharp shock ...

https://BooksAboutCambodia.com
User avatar
juansweetpotato
Expatriate
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:45 pm
Reputation: 75

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by juansweetpotato » Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:35 pm

kyleincambo wrote:
Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:37 pm
Well this question went from useful information into something that has gone so far over my head I dont even know where to begin. So to bring it all back on course I went out and bought the cheapest UPS i could find $35 which more than covers my 450w computer. Needless to say the computer restarts drastically reduced. Unfortunately not completely. Its crazy watching the fluctuation in power. I know that has had something to do with it. I then made a few modifications to some of my settings and no more computer restarts. So will say this was all a success. Now if my EDC bill goes way up Ill have to reconsider. And by the way paying my EDC bill at the EDC was straight up madness. I had to stand and watch for five minutes before I realized what had to be done.

Im glad I only pay 770kwh riel though. SO Im expecting not a huge jump in bill price.

Now you guys can go back to talking about whatever the heck it was you were blabbing about.
Haha, soz for all that. I blame Stroppy. :stir: No, your power bill will be next to normal, 450w is nothing unless you intend to run it playing video games 24/7. It should pull about 200w or less per hour. That's like two 100w bulbs. Glad you got it sorted. :thumb:
"Can you spare some cutter for an old man?"
User avatar
juansweetpotato
Expatriate
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:45 pm
Reputation: 75

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by juansweetpotato » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:44 am

kyleincambo wrote:
Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:37 pm
Well this question went from useful information into something that has gone so far over my head I dont even know where to begin. So to bring it all back on course I went out and bought the cheapest UPS i could find $35 which more than covers my 450w computer. Needless to say the computer restarts drastically reduced. Unfortunately not completely. Its crazy watching the fluctuation in power. I know that has had something to do with it. I then made a few modifications to some of my settings and no more computer restarts. So will say this was all a success. Now if my EDC bill goes way up Ill have to reconsider. And by the way paying my EDC bill at the EDC was straight up madness. I had to stand and watch for five minutes before I realized what had to be done.

Im glad I only pay 770kwh riel though. SO Im expecting not a huge jump in bill price.

Now you guys can go back to talking about whatever the heck it was you were blabbing about.
Btw, does your UPS have a meter on it that measures the voltage in? Maybe the UPS is constantly running on the battery?
How far is your place from the street post? Just interested.
"Can you spare some cutter for an old man?"
Mrs Stroppy
Expatriate
Posts: 553
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 9:04 pm
Reputation: 1
Location: Phnom Penh
Australia

Re: Computer and Voltage issues help

Post by Mrs Stroppy » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:11 am

juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:42 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:37 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:33 pm
StroppyChops wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:27 pm
juansweetpotato wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:24 pm

Everything uses some power, but the UPS is basically the same as a lap top power supply - a voltage regulator with an overload cut out and a battery. The bigger the UPS, the bigger the cost in running it. But you would be hard pushed to need 4kw for a UPS unless you're mining bitcoins or something.
Can't find any reasonable data on whether a UPS kicks your power bill, half suggests no change, others suggest barely recordable change.
As I suggested in the above post, if you have a normal desktop with a 400w power supply, you just need a UPS that matches its power requirements - ie minimal consumption costs incurred for the UPS.
Oh, I understood you JSP, but it's hard to tell from your post if this is your view (and therefore correct :D ) or you're basing it on some science... obviously one would think that the bigger a UPS the bigger the net gain/loss in power, but then you start to consider Tesla's Powerwall, which is effectively a big UPS.
Ok Stroppy, time to get it out and show us. Just exactly how big is your telefunkun UPS?

This one's for Hanno. Tell Mrs Stroppy to cover her eyes.
Eyes are covered....
Using Tapatalk
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 134 guests