How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Foodie Zone. Recipes, best/worst places to eat, etc.
User avatar
OrangeDragon
Site Admin
Posts: 4183
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 8:05 pm
Contact:

How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby OrangeDragon » Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:44 pm

So, google has a cool feature called the data highlighter. That means if we structure data a certain consistent way, and i tell google what that way is, it will index it specifically under that category. One such category is restaurant reviews.

Name: (required)
Address: (required)
Telephone: (required)
Opening hours:
Cuisine:
Image:
URL:
Reservation URL:
Menu URL:
Rating: (1-5 if you use it)

Just copy that and toss it at the beginning, using only the required lines and any others you feel apply, and you'll be doing the site a great service! If you don't, please don't be too upset if I edit your OP with the 3 required lines included... as I'm now going to go and do for the reviews already here.

Thanks gang!
User avatar
General Mackevili
GONK
Posts: 10916
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 5:24 pm
Location: The Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby General Mackevili » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:57 pm

OrangeDragon wrote:
If you don't, please don't be too upset if I edit your OP with the 3 required lines included... as I'm now going to go and do for the reviews already here.

Thanks gang!
Cool! Thanks for the heads up.
"Life is too important to take seriously."

"Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh."

Follow me on Twitter @Mackevili http://www.Twitter.com/Mackevili
picooie
Expatriate
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 1:50 pm

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby picooie » Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:24 pm

it seems pretty silly requiring a phone number for a restaurant review. So if you did not remember to get a business card for a restaurant you cannot give an opinion on the restaurant? Silly

picooie
User avatar
OrangeDragon
Site Admin
Posts: 4183
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby OrangeDragon » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:28 pm

Like I said, if people don't I'll come behind them and update their post with it. Most places can be googled for that info.
User avatar
AE86
Expatriate
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:36 am

Re: How to structure a restaurant review... (please?)

Postby AE86 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 9:03 pm

I'd structure it like so because I'm lazy to read.

City: (PP, SHV, SR, etc)
Name:
Cuisine:
Rating: (1-5 stars)


Summary - Whatever the person wants to say

Address: (required)
Telephone: (required)
Opening hours:
Cuisine:
Image:
URL:
Reservation URL:
Menu URL:


That way I can determine deal breakers very quickly like city location, cuisine, or perceived rating. Summary will then convince me whether or not I want to go, and if I do, I'll take a look at the contact info later on.
Please don't be edible, exterior girdle food - 成

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Getting Your Fill”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests